Last Minute Rush

Sorry for how long it’s been without posting anything. I didn’t realize just how much work it is to get ready for university, especially when you’re moving away.

I finally have an update on my book though, but unfortunately it’s not exactly a good one.

I know from personal experience that things don’t always go the way you them to. In the last year I’ve ran into some bumps that I thought would mean the end of my writing career. A fried hard drive, lost files, delays, rejection, you name it. But I thought that I was over the rapids and into clam water. Unfortunately though it seems that there’s always one more curve ball.

I recently, and by that I mean in July, finished going over the final draft of my manuscript. It had been laid out beautifully and once the editor checked it over we both thought our work was done. All we had to do was sit back and wait for the cover image. And that’s where the problem lies. The person who said they would start working on it four months ago just said that they haven’t done anything and will not attempt to because they are too busy. I’m not blaming them for that, I know we all get stressed out and find ourselves in over our heads, but a head’s up would have been nice. The only silver lining is that I now get to use the design idea I made for the cover. But the downside is that that was all it was, just an idea. It wasn’t large enough or ready to be used as the cover. So I spent a few late nights hunched over my laptop with my nose an inch away from the screen, straining my eyes trying to re-size and sharpen a picture that was more than a year old and made on a different photoshop program.

Hopefully all’s well that ends well though, I’ll just have to see. The book won’t be ready until the fall now and I really do mean that this was a “last minute rush” because I’m moving to Toronto for school in five days. But I think that things just might work out…I hope.

Leave a comment